'"> ');

Author Topic: Taylor Wimpey DPC Concerns  (Read 18754 times)

SJ15

Taylor Wimpey DPC Concerns
« on: December 13, 2019, 11:21:09 pm »
First time poster long time reader. Apologies in advance if I'm posting in the wrong section or breaking any rules.

I am looking to buy a former new build Taylor Wimpey house which is 4-5 years old.
All was going well until I was told about a possible issue with the DPC at the front of the house.

I have attached some pictures.

Basically the survey mentioned that no DPC is visible. From my examination with some advice online, I think I can see it on top of the first row of bricks above the front garden grass. Which seems to run under the front door. Then there are some slabs which I believe are level to the DPC. From my understanding there should be two rows of bricks between the ground and the DPC. I must stress I am not an expert and just going by a faint outline of where I think I can see the DPC.

My thoughts were:
  • There seem to be a lot of Taylor Wimpey houses with this style of front door level with the lawn and little DPC clearance
  • How big an issue is this - enough for me to walk away from the purchase?
  • Would NHBC fixed this or care?
  • What solution/cost would remedy this? Or should I leave alone until I (may) have damp issues
  • Anyone else have this style of 2 bed house? Similar to a Gosford design I believe. Any experiences?

Thanks. Any advice is appreciated.

New Home Expert

• Global Moderator
  • Guru member
  • Expert advice for new home buyers
    • New Home Blog
Re: Taylor Wimpey DPC Concerns
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2019, 08:29:50 am »
First of all, this was picked up by your survey so it is relevant and could be a future problem.
Bothe the building regulations sate that external dpc should be 150mm (two brick courses above finished ground level.  The key words being "should be"  not "must be".