'"> ');

Author Topic: Update on floorboard creaking  (Read 34353 times)

simba_ali

Update on floorboard creaking
« on: November 21, 2017, 10:04:01 am »
Hello, I posted a topic a couple of months ago about a really creaky floor which you kindly gave me advice on. I have a quick update which hopefully you can provide some feedback.

So I recently purchased a house which has a room with a very creaky floor. No amount of screwing by the builder will fix the creak. What we have noticed is the creak position in the floor is directly above a partition wall underneath.

Im no expert in construction but could a connection between the partition wall below and the floor above be rubbing together? The noise occurs within a foot either side of where the wall is underneath.

Any information or a point in the right direction would be appreciated

New Home Expert

• Global Moderator
  • Guru member
  • Expert advice for new home buyers
    • New Home Blog
Re: Update on floorboard creaking
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2017, 06:43:47 am »
What could be happening is if the partition is a block wall, that will not shrink unlike a timber floor and could make the floor creak at that point.

If it is a timber partition under the floor, it should be fixed to the floor joists in some way, either directly or via noggins between the joists. ("a foot either side" might indicate this) If the timbers are not tight or nails fully driven then this may cause the noise.

Another cause is the wall drylining or adhesive touching the floor joists.

New Home Blog - New Home Expert is committed to providing help and advice for people having issues with their new homes and difficulties with house builders as well as helping potential buyers reduce the risk of possible problems if they do buy.

simba_ali

« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2017, 02:50:59 pm »
Thank you for your reply