'"> ');

Author Topic: Stonebridge homes  (Read 36320 times)

Pudsey43

Stonebridge homes
« on: March 02, 2016, 04:38:39 pm »
Hi all

Forum newbie here. Just wondering if anyone has experience of Stonebridge homes. They're a small builder in Yorkshire but seem to be yet another builder of ill repute. This isn't just a case of buyers remorse. The house design and area are nice. But the execution, heating system, quality of workmanship is just awful.

Other homeowners on the same estate have experienced similar issues especially heating and painting.

I would certainly warn anyone against buying a house from them but wondered if there was any advice you could give on steps to take.

I have been in almost constant contact with them since December on a range of issues.

- they have been to tidy up the paintwork in many areas where wood hadn't been sanded or finished properly but issues still remain

- the heating system is woefully inadequate and I now have an independent report from another heating company that states this.

- they replaced 3 damaged flagstones with ones of a different shade on my patio that stand out like a sore thumb, yet claim it isn't a requirement to have matching flagstones under the terms of the premier warranty.

I refuse to give up until I get the house I paid nearly 300k for but information is power. Anything you can advise me on would be appreciated.

Thanks

Sean

New Home Expert

• Global Moderator
  • Guru member
  • Expert advice for new home buyers
    • New Home Blog
Re: Stonebridge homes
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2016, 07:52:41 am »
Oh dear, when I see the words "Premier Guarantee" I worry.
In my opinion it is anything but "Premier"
It is even more important when buying from a small regional housebuilder as you have done to make sure you have an NHBC Warranty.  The NHBC have strict criteria and checks before allowing a builder on to their register, so it could be Stonebridge Homes were not able to meet NHBC criteria.