'"> ');

Author Topic: Missing Window Detailing  (Read 7861 times)

billinghamn

Missing Window Detailing
« on: May 19, 2020, 10:05:34 am »
New to this forum, so any help from more experienced users would be very much appreciated.

Not long since we moved into a new home and we have noticed that the brick detailing above and below the windows at the rear of our property have not been installed correctly.  The lightweight brick header above one window is in place, but it is missing from two other windows.  The lightweight brick sill is missing from all three windows.

This seems like a complete mess up, which the builder should have picked up as part of quality control.  The builder is suggesting it's just cosmetic and they won't fix it.

Any advice as to what my rights are?  I'm pushing the builder into retrofitting the detailing, although I have no knowledge as to whether this is possible or not.

billinghamn

Re: Missing Window Detailing
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2020, 01:07:43 pm »
I've also now checked the approved planning application, and there are a number of houses on the development whose elevations do not match the elevation drawings approved as part of the planning application.  I.e. there are a number of houses where the brick detailing doesn't match the detailing that should have been installed.

Midwest

« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2020, 08:29:46 am »
Got any pictures you can post?

New Home Expert

• Global Moderator
  • Guru member
  • Expert advice for new home buyers
    • New Home Blog
« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2020, 10:59:29 am »
First of all, you bought the house and should have been shown, drawings, elevations, specifications and there would have been a brochure. Presumably all of this would have shown what your own home would look like.

What you now have appears to be a hotch-potch of neither detailing or no detailing at all. The housebuilder is wrong to suggest it is just cosmetic and refuse to put it right.